Amina Doherty

Director, WVL - Caribbean
  • Amina Doherty
  • Directrice, Programme Voix et leadership des femmes dans les Caraïbes
  • Pronoun(s): elle/la
  • Words to Inspire: Radicale, noire, liberté.
  • Antigua

Militante et artiviste féministe d’origine nigériane présentement installée à Antigua-et-Barbuda, Amina dirige le projet Voix et leadership des femmes dans les Caraïbes du Fonds Égalité.

Membre fondatrice de FRIDA | The Young Feminist Fund, un organisme qui vise à renforcer les capacités des organismes de jeunes féministes dans divers pays du monde, elle en est aussi la première directrice. Elle a beaucoup travaillé avec des organismes de soutien aux mouvements de femmes comme l’Association pour les droits des femmes dans le développement (AWID), Just Associates (JASS) et le Fonds africain pour le développement de la femme (AWDF).

Amina trouve un équilibre naturel entre la créativité et le militantisme dans l’ensemble de ses activités professionnelles. En soutenant activement le travail transformationnel des artistes, des visionnaires, des activistes et des organismes qui renforcent le changement social, Amina s’efforce de contribuer à la construction d’une société plus stimulante, plus égalitaire et plus juste. Elle a vécu et travaillé au Nigéria, au Canada, en Jamaïque et au Royaume-Uni.

Amina agit à titre de conseillère auprès de Mama Cash pour la région des Caraïbes, et siège au conseil d’administration du Fonds mondial pour les Femmes. Elle est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en sciences politiques et en études féminines de l’Université McGill (avec distinction) et d’une maîtrise en genre, développement et mondialisation de la London School of Economics.

Donate to the Equality Fund

At the Equality Fund, we don’t just give together, we grow together. We are a powerful community of changemakersstanding shoulder-to-shoulder with feminist movements around the world. Together we are making it possible for investments in gender equality to go father, last longer, and dig deeper than ever before. Join Us.

Pin It on Pinterest

Amina Doherty

Director, WVL - Caribbean
  • Amina Doherty
  • Program Director - Women's Voice and Leadership - Caribbean
  • Pronoun(s): she/her
  • Words to Inspire: Radical, Black, Freedom.
  • Antigua

A Nigerian/Antiguan feminist artivist, Amina is the Director of the Equality Fund’s Women’s Voice and Leadership — Caribbean project.

Amina is a founding member and the first director of FRIDA | The Young Feminist Fund, an organization that aims to strengthen the capacity of young feminist organizations around the world. She has worked extensively with movement support organizations such as the Association for Women’s Rights in Development (AWID); Just Associates (JASS); and the African Women’s Development Fund (AWDF).

Across her work, Amina finds the natural flow between creativity and activism. Through actively supporting transformational work from artists, dreamers, activists, and organizations that strengthen social change, Amina is focused on helping to build a more colourful, equal, and just world. She has lived and worked in Nigeria, Canada, Jamaica, and the UK, and is currently based in Antigua and Barbuda.

Amina serves as a Caribbean advisor to Mama Cash, and as a Global Fund for Women board member. She holds a BA in political science and women’s studies from McGill University (Distinction) and an M.Sc. in gender, development and globalization from the London School of Economics (LSE).

Donate to the Equality Fund

At the Equality Fund, we don’t just give together, we grow together. We are a powerful community of changemakersstanding shoulder-to-shoulder with feminist movements around the world. Together we are making it possible for investments in gender equality to go father, last longer, and dig deeper than ever before. Join Us.

Pin It on Pinterest