Melanie Lindayen

Program Office
  • Melanie Lindayen
  • Agente de programme
  • Pronoun(s): elle/la
  • Words to Inspire: « Si vous êtes venus pour m’aider, vous perdez votre temps... Mais si vous êtes venus parce que votre libération est liée à la mienne, alors travaillons ensemble. » — Groupe d’activistes aborigènes, Queensland, années 1970
  • Toronto, Canada

Melanie est agente de programme au sein de l’équipe des programmes mondiaux et soutient l’octroi de subventions et l’accompagnement du Fonds Égalité avec des groupes partenaires féministes et de défense des droits des femmes. Elle possède une vaste expérience dans le domaine du développement communautaire, de la consolidation de la paix et de l’éducation fondée sur les droits, acquise auprès d’organismes communautaires et d’institutions internationales. Plus particulièrement, elle apporte à ses fonctions des enseignements tirés de diverses expériences dans le domaine de la justice sociale et de l’organisation des fxmmes parmi les collectifs de travailleuses et travailleurs du sexe, le personnel sanitaire, les pédagogues et les activistes soutenant les droits des autochtones.

Ayant des racines personnelles et professionnelles reliant l’Asie-Pacifique et l’Île de la Tortue (un nom autochtone pour désigner l’Amérique du Nord), Melanie est titulaire d’une maîtrise en études internationales sur la paix et la résolution des conflits de l’Université du Queensland; elle avait été boursière des Centres Rotary pour la paix mondiale. En dehors des heures de travail, elle aime s’adonner à la danse folklorique traditionnelle et à l’exploration de denrées naturelles. Elle est aussi une adepte convaincue de la vie à faible impact écologique. Elle a mis ce dernier aspect à l’épreuve avec son compagnon de voyage sur leur voilier pour leur retour au pays, et est maintenant très heureuse de vivre des aventures en eau douce dans les bassins hydrographiques de l’Ontario qu’elle connaît beaucoup mieux.

Donate to the Equality Fund

At the Equality Fund, we don’t just give together, we grow together. We are a powerful community of changemakersstanding shoulder-to-shoulder with feminist movements around the world. Together we are making it possible for investments in gender equality to go father, last longer, and dig deeper than ever before. Join Us.

Pin It on Pinterest

Melanie Lindayen

Program Office
  • ~|icon_profile~|elegant-themes~|solidMelanie Lindayen
  • ~|icon_id-2_alt~|elegant-themes~|solidProgram Officer
  • ~|icon_star~|elegant-themes~|solidPronoun(s): she/her
  • ~|icon_quotations_alt~|elegant-themes~|solidWords to Inspire: "If you have come to help me, you are wasting your time. If you have come because your liberation is bound up with mine, then let us work together." - Aboriginal activists group, Queensland, 1970s
  • ~|icon_pin~|elegant-themes~|solidToronto, Canada

Melanie is a Program Officer in the Global Programs squad, and supports the Equality Fund’s grantmaking and accompaniment with partner women’s rights and feminist groups. She has a wide-ranging background in community development, peacebuilding, and rights-based education with community-based organizations and international agencies. In particular, she brings learnings from diverse social justice and womxn’s organizing among sex worker collectives, health workers, Indigenous rights educators and defenders.

With personal and professional roots bridging Asia and the Pacific and Turtle Island, Melanie holds a master’s degree in international studies in peace and conflict resolution from the University of Queensland and is a Rotary Peace Fellow alumna. Offline, she is a lover of traditional folk dance, foraging wild foods, and a passionate advocate for lower-impact living. She has tested the latter as a live-aboard/ocean explorer with her shipmate on their sailboat home, and now contents herself with freshwater adventures in the Ontario watersheds she knows best.

Donate to the Equality Fund

At the Equality Fund, we don’t just give together, we grow together. We are a powerful community of changemakersstanding shoulder-to-shoulder with feminist movements around the world. Together we are making it possible for investments in gender equality to go father, last longer, and dig deeper than ever before. Join Us.

Pin It on Pinterest